My Space - Classes and Communities

Versjonen frå 13. desember 2007 kl. 15:07 av Stud4577 (Diskusjon) (New page: The students are automatically placed in classes and communities on the basis of their registration for examinations, affiliation to a study programme, institute or faculty. All informatio...)
(skil) ← Eldre versjon | Siste versjonen (skil) | Nyare versjon → (skil)

The students are automatically placed in classes and communities on the basis of their registration for examinations, affiliation to a study programme, institute or faculty. All information published in class and community pages is displayed on the student’s personal page, ”My Space”. Remember that students cannot drop classes for which they have registered for examinations. You can thus be sure that published information will be displayed on students’ personal pages (My Space).

Staff are not placed in classes or communities but they can themselves join through [Join/Drop a Class or Community group ] in the class or community portlet in My Space. Please note that membership in classes and communities does not confer administrator rights (write access).
Each department has one or more superusers who establish administrator rights (write access) for teaching staff. This is normally the duty of the study consultant. If you have been granted administrator rights (write access) in a class or community, they will automatically be displayed in the class and community portlet in My Space.

Contact the superuser at your department if you wish administrator rights (write access) to a class or community.

Displaying a class in My Space for longer than a usual semester:

The classes normally disappear from the students’ overview in My Space on 1 January and 1 July respectively. It is possible to keep up membership for the students in a class into the following semester for a limited period. This is useful if you wish to receive an assessment of the teaching at the beginning of January for a class that ended in the autumn.

How to extend the display period for a class for students:
On the Admin page for the class under Group Administration, go to “Edit Group Properties – Change names, descriptions etc.”
Set a final date for displaying the class in which it says “Drop memberships on the subject on a given date.”

Note: The maximum extension is 3 months from 1 January and 1 July respectively.

Create subgroup

Subgroups in a class are used, among other things, to divide students into smaller groups, e.g. tutorial groups, seminar groups, laboratory groups and similar. Subgroups have the same functions as the home page for the class or community.

Creation of subgroups via Felles Studentsystem (FS):
Contact the student advisor or the faculty for more information.

Creation of subgroups directly in a class or community:

  • Via the Admin-page, select New Subgroup
  • Give the subgroup a name and, if applicable, a description
  • Select ”Join Policy”
    • Open: The students can join the subgroup themselves (NOTE: It is possible to limit the number of people who can become members of an open group via ”Edit Group Properties”
    • Closed: The administrator enters members via Manage Membership
    • Needs Approval: Users can request membership. Requests are approved by the administrator via Manage Membership.

How to remove (archive) a subgroup

Subgroups can be removed so that they are no longer displayed in My Space. The subgroup will not be completely deleted, but it will only be visible to administrators.

Click the Admin tab and then click the “Archive” option after the subgroup you wish to remove.

Documentation overview